About Us

The Deadline Club is the largest chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, and the society’s 2013 Large Chapter of the Year. Founded in New York City in 1925, it has around 300 members working in newspapers, magazines, radio, television and the Internet, as well as retired journalists and journalism educators. Each spring, it recognizes excellence in journalism through a highly-competitive awards contest. The winners are announced at the Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria, where they are presented with The Club’s distinctive “Rubes,” statuettes designed especially for The Club by the American artist Rube Goldberg. Through The Deadline Club Foundation, it also awards scholarships to talented New York journalism students. Deadline Club members have full access to the Salmagundi Club, a historic arts center located at 47 Fifth Avenue in Manhattan. Club members have use of the restaurant and bar, billiard room and common areas with Wi-Fi networking. The Club typically holds one or two events a month at venues throughout the city, and maintains the New York Journalism Hall of Fame. The Club has inducted nearly 100 members into this august body since founding the Hall of Fame at its golden anniversary celebration in 1975.

More About The Club

Meet the Board of Directors
Club History
Golden Anniversary Book (opens in Scribd)
Past Presidents
Award Winners
Contest Categories
Hall of Fame
Bylaws | Download as PDF
Mission Statement
External Communications Policy


The 2017 Governing Board of The Deadline Club


Michael Arena, CUNY

Vice Presidents
Colin DeVries, NYU Lutheran Hospital (awards dinner)
Daniel Roberts, Yahoo Finance (awards contest)
Jessica Seigel, New York University (events)
Polly Whittell, Freelance (membership)
Claire Regan, Wagner College (special projects)
Melissa Heule, Freelance / Today’s Business (communications)

Janell Crispyn, iHeartMedia

Assistant Secretary
Gary Shapiro, Columbia University

Mike Rizzo, St. John’s University

Executive Council
Peter Szekely, Thomson Reuters (Chair as Immediate Past President)
Allan Chernoff, Chernoff Communications
Tricia Couture, Freelance
Robert Greenman, journalism educator
Pamela Lynne Hamilton, documentary producer
Ben Lesser, Thomson Reuters
Suzanne Woolley, Bloomberg.com
Lauren Young, Thomson Reuters

Advisory Council (past club presidents)
J. Alex Tarquinio, The Society of Professional Journalists President-Elect
Steve Dunlop, Dunlop Media Inc.
John C. Long, Wall Street Journal (retired), St. John’s and Hofstra Universities

Professional Council
Betsy Ashton, WNET-TV and portrait artist
Rebecca Baker, The Daily News and Society of Professional Journalists President
Rich Barbieri, CNNMoney.com
Anastasia Economides, NBC
Robert Greenman, journalism educator
Rubina Madan Fillion, The Intercept
Catherine Gin, Freelance
Jacqueline Leo, Chloe Consulting
Brittany VanBibber, AOL.com
Abi Wright, Columbia University