The Deadline Club is the largest chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, and the society’s 2013 Large Chapter of the Year. Founded in New York City in 1925, it has around 300 members working in newspapers, magazines, radio, television and the Internet, as well as retired journalists and journalism educators. Each spring, it recognizes excellence in journalism through a highly-competitive awards contest. The winners are announced at the Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria, where they are presented with The Club’s distinctive “Rubes,” statuettes designed especially for The Club by the American artist Rube Goldberg. Through The Deadline Club Foundation, it also awards scholarships to talented New York journalism students. Deadline Club members have full access to the Salmagundi Club, a historic arts center located at 47 Fifth Avenue in Manhattan. Club members have use of the restaurant and bar, billiard room and common areas with Wi-Fi networking. The Club typically holds one or two events a month at venues throughout the city, and maintains the New York Journalism Hall of Fame. The Club has inducted nearly 100 members into this august body since founding the Hall of Fame at its golden anniversary celebration in 1975.

More About The Club

Meet the Board of Directors
Club History
Golden Anniversary Book (opens in Scribd)
Past Presidents
Award Winners
Contest Categories
Hall of Fame
Bylaws | Download as PDF
Mission Statement
External Communications Policy


The 2017 Governing Board of The Deadline Club

Claire Regan, Staten Island Advance (awards dinner)

Jessica Seigel, New York University (events)

Board of Governors (the voting Board)
President – Michael Arena, CUNY
Vice President for Awards Dinner – Colin DeVries, NYU Lutheran Hospital
Vice President for Awards Contest – Daniel Roberts, Fortune
Vice President for Events – Jessica Seigel, New York University
Vice President for Membership – Polly Whittell, Freelance
Vice President for Special Projects – Claire Regan, Wagner College
Vice President for Communications – Melissa Heule, Freelance / Today’s Business
Secretary – Janell Crispyn, iHeartMedia
Assistant Secretary – Gary Shapiro, Columbia University
Treasurer – To be named
Assistant Treasurer – Mike Rizzo, St. John’s UniversityExecutive Council
Chair (as Immediate Past President) – Peter Szekely, New York NewsGuild
Allan Chernoff, Chernoff Communications
Tricia Couture, Freelance – Back on Board upon returning to New York area
Robert Greenman, journalism educator
Pamela Lynn Hamilton, documentaries developer/producer – Returning to Executive Council from Professional Council
Ben Lesser, Reuters — Returning to Executive Council from Treasurer as FoI Committee chair
Suzanne Woolley,
Lauren Young, Thomson ReutersAdvisory Council (former Presidents)
J. Alex Tarquinio, The Real Deal and National SPJ Secretary-Treasurer
Steve Dunlop, CBS News and Dunlop Media Inc.
John C. Long, Wall Street Journal (retired), St. John’s and Hofstra Universities

Professional Council
(Non-voting adjunct to Governing Board, all former Board members)
Betsy Ashton, WNET-TV and portrait artist
Rebecca Baker, New York Law Journal and National SPJ First Vice President
Rich Barbieri,
Anastasia Economides, The New York Times
Robert Greenman, journalism educator
Rubina Madan Fillion, The Intercept
Catherine Gin, Freelance

Jacqueline Leo, The Fiscal Times
Brittany VanBibber, – From Secretary
Abi Wright, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism