J. Alex Tarquinio was installed as the new SPJ national president during special ceremonies at the SPJ National Convention in September. Tarquinio served two terms as Deadline Club president from 2012- 2013 and revived the New York Journalism Hall of Fame in 2013 She also held posts as SPJ Secretary-Treasurer, a board member of the SDX Foundation, the SPJ representative on the #EIJ17 programming committee and numerous national committees.

Outgoing SPJ National President Rebecca Baker is also a former Deadline Club president (2010-2011).

SPJ’s National Excellence in Journalism 2018 Convention took place Sept. 27-29 in Baltimore.

Spread the word. Share this post!