Hall of Fame Luncheon 2019

Mark Thursday, Nov. 21, on your calendar for the Deadline Club Hall of Fame luncheon at Sardi’s, honoring the best in the business.

The club, which is the New York City chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, established this signature event in 1975 as part of its golden anniversary celebration.

From the beginning, the Hall of Fame was conceived as a lifetime achievement award recognizing reporters, writers, correspondents, editors, publishers and media executives whose work had made a significant contribution to American journalism. Numbered among the original class of honorees were Walter Cronkite, Sylvia Porter, James Reston and Lowell Thomas. More recently, honorees have included Pete Hamill, William Safire, Arthur Ochs Sulzberger, Mike Wallace, Barbara Walters and Gloria Steinem.

Each honoree receives a golden medallion in recognition of their induction. The 2019 honorees will be announced next week.

The luncheon on Nov. 21 will begin with a reception at 11:30 p.m. and conclude at 2 p.m. Watch your inbox and the Deadline Club website for reservation information.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *