New York Journalism Hall of Fame

2023 Deadline Club Awards

Final preparations are underway for the 2023 Deadline Club Awards ceremony. Stay tuned for an official announcement, including the date, full list of honorees and ticket information, on

The Deadline Club, which is the New York City chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, established the New York Journalism Hall of Fame in 1975 as part of its golden anniversary celebration. The Club had been founded in 1925 by former members of the Sigma Delta Chi fraternity, a predecessor to SPJ.

From the beginning, the Hall of Fame was conceived as a lifetime achievement award recognizing reporters, writers, correspondents, editors, publishers and media executives whose work had made a significant contribution to American journalism. Numbered among the original class of honorees were Walter Cronkite, Sylvia Porter, James Reston and Lowell Thomas. More recently, honorees have included Pete Hamill, William Safire, Arthur Ochs Sulzberger, Mike Wallace, Barbara Walters and Gloria Steinem.

The Deadline Club went on to host a series of Hall of Fame luncheons at Sardi’s Restaurant and at the National Arts Club. The tradition was on hiatus after 2000, when Michael Bloomberg, Ed Bradley, Irene Cornell, Osborn Elliott and Liz Smith were inducted. In 2013, the board decided to revive the tradition, and inducted eight extraordinary journalists in a ceremony at Sardi’s on Nov. 14, 2013. The honorees included Cindy Adams, Jimmy Breslin, Graydon Carter, Bob Herbert, Carol Loomis, Linda Mason, Bill Moyers and Norman Pearlstine.

The medals were also redesigned in 2013, the molds to the previous medals having been lost in the intervening years. The new design reflects not only the connection with New York, but also the organization’s support for the freedom of speech and of the press. On Nov. 19, 2015, the Deadline Club inducted Max Frankel, Juan González, Lesley Stahl, Paul E. Steiger, and Richard B. Stolley into the Hall of Fame.

Comments or suggestions for honorees should be addressed to

New York Journalism Hall of Fame 2019 inductees: Ted Koppel, Peggy Noonan, Tom Brokaw, Jane Pauley and Richard Drew

As part of The Deadline Club’s golden anniversary celebration in 1975, it established the New York Journalism Hall of Fame with the following honorees:

  • Carl W. Ackerman
  • Hugh Baillie
  • C.D. Batchellor
  • Meyer Berger
  • Homer Bigart
  • Howard W. Blakeslee
  • Margaret Bourke-White
  • Hal Boyle
  • Arthur Brisbane
  • Heywood Brown
  • James Wright Brown
  • Jimmy Cannon
  • Robert Capa
  • Robert Considine
  • Kent Cooper
  • Walter Cronkite
  • Elmer Davis
  • Barry Farris
  • Pauline Frederick
  • Wes Gallagher
  • Julian Goodman
  • William Randolph Hearst
  • Roy W. Howard
  • Edwin L. James
  • Earl Johnson
  • Bernard Kilgore
  • J. Liebling
  • Walter Lippman
  • Henry R. Luce
  • Anne O’Hare McCormick
  • Raymond Morley
  • Edward R. Murrow
  • George Jean Nathan
  • Dan Parker
  • Alicia Patterson
  • Joseph Medill Patterson
  • Sylvia Porter
  • James Reston
  • Grantland Rice
  • Harold Ross
  • Damon Runyon
  • Arthur Hays Sulzberger
  • Herbert Bayard Swope
  • Roger Tatarian
  • Lowell Thomas
  • Dorothy Thompson
  • Stanley Walker
  • Paul White
  • Walter Winchell
  • Stanley Woodward

From 1975 to 2000, thirty-nine additional journalists were inducted into the Hall of Fame:

  • Mel Allen
  • Art Athens
  • Michael Bloomberg
  • Ed Bradley
  • George Brown
  • John Mack Carter
  • Irene Cornell
  • Douglas Edwards
  • Osborn Elliott
  • Morton Frank
  • Malvin Goode
  • Pete Hamill
  • Don Hewitt
  • John Hohenberg
  • Murray Kempton
  • Walter Kerr
  • Peter Khiss
  • James Kilgallen
  • Flora Lewis
  • Elmer Lower
  • Reuben Maury
  • John B. Oakes
  • Charles Osgood
  • Warren Phillips
  • Gabe Pressman
  • William Safire
  • Harrison Salisbury
  • William Shawn
  • Liz Smith
  • Walter “Red” Smith
  • Dr. Frank Stanton
  • Gloria Steinem
  • Arthur Ochs Sulzberger
  • Robert Trout
  • Dewitt Wallace
  • Lila Acheson Wallace
  • Mike Wallace
  • Barbara Walters
  • James Wechsler

The Club revived this tradition in 2013, with the induction of the following eight journalists:

In 2015, The Club inducted the following six journalists:

NOTE: *The Deadline Club has revoked Charlie Rose’s membership in the Deadline Club’s New York Journalism Hall of Fame.

In 2017, The Club inducted the following five journalists:

  • Terry McDonell
  • Steve Kroft
  • Nancy Gibbs
  • N.R. “Sonny” Kleinfield
  • Leslie “Les” Payne

View the photo gallery here.

In 2019, The Club inducted the following five journalists:

  • Tom Brokaw
  • Richard Drew
  • Ted Koppel
  • Peggy Noonan
  • Jane Pauley

View the photo gallery here.