Elections for the 2018 Deadline Club Board

Come raise a glass to toast in the holiday season on Wed., Nov. 29 at the Papillon Bistro & Bar. We’ll also be electing the 2018 Deadline Club board. Guests are welcome, but only club members will be eligible to vote. The venue is the Papillon Bistro & Bar, a charming French-American restaurant. Delicious hors d’oeuvres will be on offer. This event is free for current SPJ/Deadline Club members, and only $10 for non-members. Check out the list of candidates for the 2018 board:

Board of Governors (the voting Board) Officers

Candidates for The Deadline Club 2018 Governing Board


Claire Regan, Wagner College

Vice Presidents

  • Janell Cryspin, iHeartMedia (special projects)
  • Colin DeVries, NYU Lutheran (awards dinner)
  • Melissa Heule, freelance (communications)
  • Daniel Roberts, Yahoo Finance (awards contest)
  • Jessica Seigel, New York University (events)
  • Polly Whittell, freelance (membership)
  • Secretary: Joanna Hernandez, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
  • Assistant Secretary: Gary Shapiro, Columbia University
  • Treasurer: Mike Rizzo, St. John’s University

Advisory Council (Past Presidents)

  • Alex Tarquinio, The Society of Professional Journalists President-Elect
  • Steve Dunlop, Dunlop Media
  • John C. Long, The Wall Street Journal (retired), St. John’s and Hofstra Universities

Executive Council

  • Michael Arena, The City University of New York (Chairman, as the immediate past president)
  • Phil Corso, The New York Post
  • Tricia Couture, freelance
  • Ivette Davila-Richards, CBS News
  • Sheryl Huggins Salomon, The Root
  • Katina Peron, NYC High School Journalism Contest
  • Peter Szekely, Thomson Reuters
  • Suzanne Woolley, Bloomberg News
  • Lauren Young, Thomson Reuters
  • George Bodarky, WFUV-New York, Fordham University

Professional Council

  • Betsy Ashton, WNET and portrait artist
  • Rebecca Baker, The Daily News and the Society of Professional Journalists President
  • Allan Chernoff, Chernoff Communications
  • Anastasia Economides, NBC News
  • Robert Greenman, journalism educator, writer
  • Pamela Lynn Hamilton, documentary producer
  • Keith Kelly, The New York Post
  • Jacqueline Leo, Chloe Consulting
  • Ben Lesser, Thomson Reuters
  • Rubina Madan Fillion, The Intercept
  • Abi Wright, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism

Plus, a number of organizations have generously donated items for our silent auction. See the list HERE.

At a Glance:

What: Holiday Party and Annual Election of the Board
When: Wed., Nov. 29, 2017
WherePapillon Bistro & Bar, Burgundy Room, 22 E. 54th St., New York, NY
RSVP: This event is free for members who are current in their dues to both the Society of Professional Journalists and The Deadline Club. The entry fee is $10 for everyone else. Both members and nonmembers should RSVP as soon as possible.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *