Hall of Fame Revival Set for November

The Deadline Club is pleased to announce the revival of the New York Journalism Hall of Fame. Established in 1975 to celebrate The Club’s golden anniversary, we continued the tradition through 2000, electing 89 notable journalists in all. Past recipients of this lifetime achievement award include iconic New York journalists such as Barbara Walters, Mike Wallace, Ed Bradley, Pete Hamill, Gloria Steinem and Liz Smith. The tradition will be renewed in a luncheon ceremony at Sardi’s Restaurant on Nov. 14.

This event is sold out.

All eight of the new honorees plan to be on hand to receive their Hall of Fame medals and speak about their remarkable careers. Between them they have accrued more than 350 years of journalism experience, written and edited dozens of books, and received scores of prestigious prizes—including Pulitzers, Emmys, National Magazine Awards and Gerald Loeb Awards.

CLICK HERE to read a related Daily News article

The Honorees

(in alphabetical order)

Cindy Adams has written a gossip column for the New York Post for more than 30 years. She has contributed to various TV programs including WNBC’s “Live at Five” and ABC’s “Good Morning America.” Adams has written seven books, including biographies of the acting teacher Lee Strasberg and the Kennedy clan matriarch Rose Kennedy, and even a memoir about her dog Jazzy. She has been inducted into the New York Women in Communications Matrix Hall of Fame.

Jimmy Breslin has covered New York for more than fifty years as a columnist for the Daily NewsNewsday and New York magazine, among others. He is often remembered for an innovative article he wrote for the Herald Tribune in 1963 about John F. Kennedy’s gravedigger. A prolific author, his books include “Damon Runyon: A Life,” and “The World According to Jimmy Breslin.” He has won numerous awards, including the George Polk Award for Metropolitan Reporting and a Pulitzer Prize for Commentary.

Graydon Carter has been the Editor-in-Chief of Vanity Fair since July 1992. Under his editorship, it has won 11 National Magazine Awards, including two for general excellence for magazines with a circulation of more than one million, the industry’s top honor. Previously, he edited the The New York Observer and co-founded and co-edited Spy magazine. He is also an Emmy and Peabody Award-winning producer of documentaries.

Bob Herbert had an 18-year career as an Op-Ed columnist for The New York Times, writing about politics, urban affairs and social trends in a twice-weekly column. Prior to joining the Times in 1993, he worked in both broadcast and print, as a national correspondent for NBC News and a reporter for the Daily News, among others. He is now a Distinguished Senior Fellow with Demos, a public policy organization.

Carol Loomis, a Senior Editor-at-Large for Fortune magazine, has been on the masthead for 59 years. She is widely known for her profiles of financial titans such as Sandy Weill, Robert Rubin and Warren Buffett, and is the author of the Buffett biography “Tap Dancing to Work.” She has received several lifetime achievement awards, including the Gerald M. Loeb Lifetime Achievement Award and the Women’s Economic Round Table Award.

Linda Mason became the first woman to work as a producer for the CBS Evening News with Walter Cronkite in 1971. She went on to hold many high-ranking positions at CBS News, including Executive Producer of two of the network’s iconic broadcasts: Sunday Morning with Charles Kuralt and CBS Reports. She became the Senior Vice President for Standards and Special Projects before retiring earlier this year after 47 years with the network. During her long career, she has won numerous awards, including 13 Emmys, two Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards, a Peabody Award and a George Polk Award.

Bill Moyers is in his 42nd year with  PBS, where he has won over 35 Emmys for a wide range of programs from investigative reports such as “The Secret Government,” “Buying the War”,  and “Trade Secrets” to “NOW with Bill Moyers,” “A Walk through the 20th Century” and “Joseph Campbell and the Power of Myth.” He also served as Chief Correspondent for  the documentary series “CBS REPORTS’ and as senior news analyst for the CBS Evening News.  He retired in 2010 only to return with the weekly “Moyers & Company” in 2012.

Norman Pearlstine recently returned to Time Inc., where he served as the Editor-in-Chief from 1995 to 2005. His new title will be Chief Content Officer. From 2008 to 2013, he held the same title at Bloomberg L.P. His career began at The Wall Street Journal, where he worked for 23 years, nine of those as Managing Editor and then Executive Editor. He has been inducted into the American Society of Magazine Editor’s Hall of Fame.

Media Coverage of the 2013 New York Journalism Hall of Fame

Deadline Club
Hall of Fame Lights Up Sardi’s
Hall of Fame Revival Set for November
Photo Gallery of the 2013 New York Journalism Hall of Fame

Capital New York
13 years late, Deadline Club honors Breslin, Adams, Cater and others at protracted luncheon

The Daily News
Columnist Jimmy Breslin’s eye for detail made him a legend in his time
‘Hall’ of a Job, Jimmy
Jimmy Breslin to get place in New York Journalism Hall of Fame

Carol Loomis Inducted Into New York Journalism Hall of Fame

The New York Post
Cindy Adams nails it at the Journalism Hall of Fame

About the New York Journalism Hall of Fame

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *